Algarve 2022, CT7/PF5X/P – Herdade da Parra, CTFF-0233

Like last year, I am staying in the Algarve, Portugal, for the month of October. The first week I spent with my wife and some very good friends. Now that they have gone (my wife needed to work), I have time “to play radio” and activate some of the nice nature reserves in the region. So, today I drove a little north of Silves and activated Herdade da Parra, CTFF-0233. This is a beautiful hilly region. In order to get a good take-off towards Europe and maybe some other continents you have to choose your location carefully. My initial choice was on the hilltop, but it appeared to be accessible by 4×4 drive only (very steep, rough gravel road). So my second choice was just along the M502 road on a gravel parking area. It was a rather high location with a clear view from West to East over North, so ideal for my target “audience”.

Looking North. 10m Spiderbeam mini-pole, MAT-40 tuner and 12m wire + 2 elevated counterpoises

Conditions were quite different from last year. Now, 10 to 15m were wide open. On 10m the European signals were really loud. Short skip F2, wow ! The required 44 QSOs for a valid activation were quickly made. On 12m and 15m the European signals were also very good. Strangely enough DX signals were not that loud and very few inter-continental QSOs ended in the log. The weather was fantastic and my powerstation + solar panel were a happy twin. At the end of my activity I still had almost 75% of the energy available … and I used 100W output all the time.

Ecoflow R600 powerstation (576 Wh) and Eco-worthy 100 Wp foldable solar panel

Here are the stats after 3 hours of air time:

As you can see I even tried some SSB on 10m. Some loud Germans made it into the log, but it is not really my thing (CW rules …). And CT7/PF5X/P is just terrible in phone (in CW too, but N1MM does the hard work).

With this kind of weather and propagation, activating a WWFF reference is just sheer pleasure …

Outdoor radio in the Algarve … Big fun !

In the coming 10 days I plan to activate at least the following references:
CTFF-0076, -0077 and -0007. CUL !

Leave a comment